Français English
Reims City Tour

Boulingrin covered market

Built in 1927 by the architect Émile Maigrot and the engineer Eugène Freyssinet, the Boulingrin Covered Market was created following an architecture competition launched in 1922 for the construction of a wholesale and retail market, but was then closed down in 1988.

The arch of weakly reinforced concrete which overhangs the stalls at a height of 19.85 metres is only 7 cm thick. Classed as a historic monument, the covered market has been newly renovated and restored to use in 2012.