The Carnegie Library, built as a result of donations from the American steel magnate Andrew Carnegie, was inaugurated in 1928 by the President of the Republic, Gaston Doumergue. Its semi-cylindrical shape, unusual in France, and its art deco ornamentation are worth noting.
The reception hall contains small mosaic panels by A. Sauvage, representing intellectual, physical or manual activity.
A hanging lantern by Jacques Simon is suspended in the centre of the dome of the hall, beneath which is a fountain which is now without water.
The reading room contains a zenith stained glass window by Jacques Gruber representing a book, and to the side stained glass windows of a more simple construction by Jacques Simon. The exhibition room has a parquet floor.